The Joy of Getting Out of Your Own Way

Free Heart

At the beginning of May, on the day my boyfriend and I were setting off on our long-dreamed-about overseas adventure, I wrote an email to my mother that said: I want to feel that courage that will enable me to step out of my own way and into my new life. This journey is for me the start of lighting my current life on fire and seeing what emerges from the ashes. 

I got my wish at the airport, before we had even boarded the plane.

Like a scene out of a daytime soap opera, I discovered my boyfriend had been cheating on me when the woman he had been cheating on me with turned up at departures.

My life went up in flames.

Will I take this opportunity to get out of my own way and let it burn so completely that nothing remains? Am I brave enough?

Leave a Reply

