The Joy of Doing Joy-filled Things

Peacock

“Joy is to fun what the deep sea is to a puddle. It’s a feeling inside that can hardly be contained.” ~ Terry Pratchett, A Hat Full of Sky

I’ve been struggling a lot recently to create joy in my life. To do things that bring me joy. Real joy – the kind of joy that energizes you, inspires you to hum, puts a smile on your face you can’t get rid of. Joy that spreads, catching like laughter and uplifting the people you cross paths with during your day.

My job can be stressful, difficult, frustrating, draining. The relationship I’m in has a heaviness to it at the moment, like wading through mud or battling your way to shore against a rip tide. I’ve been neglecting personal projects, blaming lack of time. I can feel flat and unmotivated to do anything but eat, sleep and escape into the TV or a book. I write nothing on this blog. I worry I am not strong enough for this life I am choosing and too weak to choose differently; that I will allow myself to become a shadow of myself. I start asking people for help, so I can build my strength.

My mother urges me to do something joy-filled for myself. Every day, at least one thing.

This is surprisingly challenging. What gives me joy?

Today it is going to the beach and making a sandcastle.

Yesterday it was sitting quietly with my eyes closed.

Tomorrow it may be cooking a big pot of curry or stopping to pat someone’s cat while it suns itself on the footpath or going to the library.

How much joy do you have in your life? Do you also struggle to make it a priority, when there are so many other demands you think you must give yourself to first? What joy-filled things do you do that bring you back to the center of yourself?

Leave a Reply

